One of my favorite books: 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey

It’s been awhile since I wrote, but I remember my last post being about some healthy lifestyle choices.  Today, I was remembering a book I read a long time ago, back when I was in high school, but the very positive impact it has had on my life until this day.  Every time I need to re-orient my life and my decisions, I remember the advice I read in this book.  The book is “7 Habits of Highly Effective People“, and I highly recommend it if you have not read it yet.  I still re-read parts of the book over and over again to remind myself of the habits I could be working on.  Here is a breakdown of what Mr. Covey talks about in the book:

Part 1: Take care of yourself.  (Independence)  Here are some good habits for doing this:

1. Be proactive

This is understanding that you are in the driver’s seat of your own life.  Stop worrying about what you can’t control, and take action on what you can control.

2. Begin with the end in mind

Always have goals and a purpose.  Focus on being productive.

3. Put first things first.

Don’t procrastinate!

Part 2: Work on your relationships with others (Interdependence)

4. Think Win-Win

Be diplomatic in your relationships and arguments.

5. Seek first to understand, then be understood.

Be empathetic and be a good listener.

6. Synergize.

Cooperate and work as a team.

Part 3: General lifestyle

7. Sharpen the Saw

This one goes with my third point in my previous post, and that is don’t forget to take care of yourself!  Relax, recharge, and take care of your spiritual, emotional, and physical health.

Like I said, each of these habits for me is a work in progress.  Sometimes, I feel defeated when things don’t go my way (#1), or I forget to be a good listener (#4).  But thank you, Mr. Covey, for being a great help!

Leave a Reply

